The Arizona Office of Film & Digital Media is here to assist you with film permits for usage of city property, state-owned lands, tribal and federal lands in Arizona. Your project may require various permits, along with fees and proof of insurance, depending upon each specific location. We've provided some helpful links below to some primary permitting agencies to get you started. Not every permit requires a fee. Currently, there are no fees for permits issued on State park lands, highways or roads.  

Find your location then see what's required to film there. If you need further assistance, tell us about your project and the locations you'd like to use and we'll be glad to help direct you to the proper permitting authority.

who owns it?


For filming on or within City and County areas, contact the local film offices.

contact our office


For more information on filming on state roads, parks and highways see the permit links below. Currently, there are no fees charged for the permits required to film in state parks and along state roads and highways. If you need further assistance, please contact us

Arizona Department of Transportation  

Arizona Highway Patrol

Arizona State Parks 


Federal permits are required for filming on national park and forest lands in Arizona.  This includes on waterways within these areas. Permits are governed by the administrator of the land which could be either the National Park Service (NPS), the Bureau of Land Management (BLM) or the National Forest Service (NFS).

National Parks, Monuments, Recreational Areas 

There are 24 National Park Service (NPS) units in Arizona, including three national parks (Grand Canyon, Petrified Forest-No permits processed during Nov. 20- Dec.1, Saguaro). Additionally, there are four national monuments administered by the Bureau of Land Management (BLM) - (Agua Fria, Grand Canyon-Parashant, Ironwood Forest, Sonoran Desert, Vermillion Cliffs). 

Permits - National Park Service (No drones allowed)

Permits - Bureau of Land Management

Arizona National Parks, National Monuments and National Recreation Areas

National Forests

There are six national forests located in Arizona, administered by the USDA's National Forest Service (NFS). Map 
Permits - National Forest Service  (Drone regulations

Apache-Sitgreaves National Forest

Coconino National Forest
Coronado National Forest
Kaibab National Forest
Prescott National Forest
Tonto National Forest



Filming on tribal lands requires the approval of respective tribal governments. For filming on Navajo lands see the link below. If you need further assistance, please contact a local film office near the tribal lands. 

Permit - Navajo Nation

Native American Tribes in Arizona (Tribal information/Arizona Office of Tourism)

Travel Tips & Guidelines (Arizona Office of Tourism)